Club Awards

Every year prizes are awarded to athletes in the following categories at the AGM held in October.

1. Club Champions – ie winners of the race selected to be the Piranha Club Championships. In 2014, Hook or by Crook in Dunmore East, Co. Waterford was selected (Sprint distance)
2. Highest ranked National Series Male and Female – ie the male and female who have scored the highest amount of points in the National Series run by Triathlon Ireland.

Then the next 6 categories are nominated and voted on by our members:
3. Best new male & female.
4. Most improved male & female.
5. Best race report.
6. Everest Award. The Everest Award is for a Piranha Triathlon Club member who gone above and beyond by helping someone out, in service to the club or by having achieved something very special.

And lastly:

7.Club Spirit is decided by the committee

Previous winners for the last number of years are listed below:

2019 Winners:

1) Club champ (male) Killian Nolan
2) Club champ (female) Becky Woods
3) Highest NS points (male) Killian Nolan
4) Highest NS points (female) Becky Woods
5) Best newcomer (male) Niall O’Flynn
6) Best newcomer (female) Hannah Gibney
7) Most improved (male) Adam Goslin
8) Most improved (female) Roisin Pakenham
9) Race report – David Cullen
10) Everest – Nikki HC and Pat Linehan
11) Club Spirit award – Dave O’Shea

2017 Winners:

1) Club champ (male) Tom McEnery
2) Club champ (female) Brianne Mulvihill
3) Highest NS points (male) James Hoare
4) Highest NS points (female) Brianne Mulvihill
5) Best newcomer (male) Neil Murphy
6) Best newcomer (female) Nicki Hickey Crowe
7) Most improved (male) Richie Dooley
8) Most improved (female) Martina Duignan
9) Race report – Eimear McHugh
10) Everest – Killian Nolan for getting the club marathon record 2.37
11) Club Spirit award – Marie Moran

2016 Winners:

1) Club champ (male) Tom McEnery
2) Club champ (female) Brianne Mulvihill
3) Highest NS points (male)
4) Highest NS points (female)
5) Best newcomer (male) Michael Barry
6) Best newcomer (female) Shannon Kelly and Claire Gorman
7) Most improved (male) Aidan Hughes
8) Most improved (female) Judy van den Ancker
9) Race report – Brecca Swimrun by Kevin Beades and Roger Rice 
10) Everest – Killian Nolan for getting the club marathon record 2.37
11) Club Spirit award – Barcelona Specathletes!

2015 Winners:

Club Champs (Athy)

1) Club champ (male) Anthony Mulholland
2) Club champ (female) Sinead Hartnett
3) Highest NS points (male) Conal Murphy
4) Highest NS points (female) Jacqui Dunphy
5) Best newcomer (male) Roger Rice
6) Best newcomer (female) Rachel Hayes
7) Most improved (male) Bernard Hanratty
8) Most improved (female) Mags Wallnutt
9) Race report – Steven Moody
10) Everest – Aileen Flynn qualifying for Kona
11) Club Spirit award – John Lyons

2014 Winners:
Club Champs (Hook or by Crook)
Male Club Champion – James Hoare
Female Club Champion – Vivienne Fenton
Highest Rank NS Male – James Hoare. However, in the interest of fair distribution of prizes, one person cannot win more than one prize, so this was awarded to the next in line, Richard Doyle
Highest Rank NS female – Katie Fitzgerald
Club Spirit -awarded to Bernard Hanratty
Best new male – Anthony Mulholland
Best new female – Sinead Lambe
Most improved male – Declan Cunningham
Most improved female – Aileen Flynn
Best Race Report –Tie – Ellen Shilling & Steven Moody
Everest Award – Michael Keogh


2013 Winners:
Club Champions – Matt Coughlan & Erin O’Connell
NS highest ranked male – Richard Doyle
NS highest ranked female – Aileen Flynn
Best New male – Tom McEnery
Best New female – Erin O’Connell
Most improved Male – Alan Duggan
Most improved Female – Aileen Flynn
Best race report – Hugh Larkin
Everest award- Stephen Eustace
Club Spirit – Steven Moody

Honorary membership was awarded to John Wallnutt

2012 Winners:

Club Champions – Matt Coughlan & Anna Frankland
NS highest ranked male – Brendan O’Brien
NS highest ranked female – Katie Fitzgerald
Best New Male – Leo Hughes
Best new female – Ciara NiF
Most improved – Linda Clarke & Petrina Mulroe (tie)
Race report Winner – Claire McEntee (Valentia)
Everest Award – Judy Mahon
Club Spirit – Gavin Duffy

2011 Winners:
Best newcommer – Kevin Leavy
Most Improved – Ian Cassidy
Best race report – John Forde
Everest Award – Tadhg Cronin
Club Spirit Award – Sharon McGuire